T-shirt Quilt

Posted on Updated on

Mix106-t-shirt-quilt1Last weekend I worked on a customer’s first quilting project, a T-shirt quilt.  Her mom brought it to me and said they weren’t sure how to finish it.  It’s about 50″ X 50″ and is really cute; she made it out of her company shirts.

The biggest problem was that she had not stabilized any of the T-shirts.  They were simply cut out to show the logo and sewn together, and then she added some raw edge applique patches in some of the open areas.  She sure took on a challenge for her first project using those stretchy fabrics!  AllPeopleQuilt.com has a great tutorial on how to make a T-shirt quilt, and well worth signing up for the site.

Because the fabric wasn’t stabilized, and therefore the seams weren’t flat, I decided that a double layer of high loft polyester batting would Mix106-t-shirt-quilt3probably help the situation….and I was right!  OK, maybe 2 layers was a bit overkill, but I had absolutely no tension issues!!  🙂

Mix106-t-shirt-quilt2The initial design objective was an overall meander, but as I was working, I thought that a bit of highlighting was called for so I outlined the patches and logos.  Overall, I’m very pleased with how it has turned out.

Leave a Reply

