Garage Sale Find!

Posted on

garage-sale-find-2012

Yesterday I found out about a quilter who was moving to a new home, and had to downsize her quilting stash, so she held a garage sale today.   Bad news for her, great news for the community!  Great news?  Yes!  She was selling her yardage for between $3-$4 per yard!  I haven’t been buying much fabric lately, unless it’s for a specific project.  I don’t have much more room for new fabric, unless it has a specific purpose; that way, it won’t be sticking around! 

About half of this fabric is for a fabric swap I signed up for at guild, and the other half is for a new shadow box quilt I just had a bug to start cutting for; I saw a photo of one on my Stashbusters Yahoo group albums and a tutorial.  While I’ve been cutting 2” charms for my PSQ, I figured it would be easy enough to cut the 8.5” charms I need for that quilt, too.

And look what else I found at the yard sale!  It’s a gorgeous round robin wall hanging that was pineapple-wall-hangingstarted in 1995…I even got the label they made!…and I’ve even got ideas on how to finish it.  Wool batting and feathers are in its future!

And here’s a close-up of the middle:

DSCF5492

I also went shopping at the local yarn shop today.  Unfortunately, The Yarn Shoppe in Meridian is closing, so they’re having a sale.  I got way too much great stuff.  I won’t need to spend money on craft projects for a long, long time!

Leave a Reply

